Caretaking: Codependent You May……………#2

feel anxiety, pity, and guilt when other people have a problem.

Wow.  Does this happen often.  Especially with my oldest son.  Not so much with my husband or my younger son.  However, if something isn’t right, my oldest son has a way of making me feel guilty.  We are A LOT a like.  That may have something to do with it.  I am not sure.  Let me give you a for instance:  Husband brings home a bike for my youngest son and not my oldest.  So when my husband isn’t home, my son tries to make me feel guilty as to why he should have a bike also.  I mean he is older.  What has he EVER done to not deserve that bike?!  It’s a race bike.

Or- my older son bought a 30 microsoft points card and downloaded the points onto the xbox so that he could buy a game.  Yet there was an age restriction.  He pulls the guilt trip with me again.  Great there is only one more day of the sale, and throws a temper tantrum – “I wasted my money buying this card.”  “There’s NOTHING you can do for me MOM?”

I just feel so bad that he does these things and my hands are tied.  He plays right into my emotions.  Yes, I feel anxiety, pity, and guilt when other people have a problem- especially when they are people that are close to me.  Qualification 2- MET

 

What are your thoughts?  Suggestions.  Advice?  Anyone?

 

http://will.tip.dhappy.org/projects/unsorted/project/media/text/Melodie%20Beattie%20-%20Characteristics%20of%20Codependent%20People.html

 

One thought on “Caretaking: Codependent You May……………#2

Leave a Reply

