Playwriting and Improving Dialogue

A Writer In Training

Hey everyone!

I am currently in a playwright class. I took it for a few reasons and none of them being for my dream of writing plays. I wanted to improve my dialogue skills, try something new, expand my writing horizons, it fit in the time slot I needed, was told it was an easy A, and it counted as an elective. So as you can see some of my reasoning’s were meaningful and others… not so much.

BUT! I am actually really enjoying it and feel as though my dialogue writing has really improved! My Professor put it in a good light for me by saying, “You are not the one talking so stop telling them what to say! Let your characters talk, when they have something to say you will hear it!” I know what you are thinking, THE CHARACTERS AREN’T REAL! But in a weird way, after…

View original post 190 more words

Leave a Reply

